Oil Cloth Bibs

My first two friends to have babies are about to reach the six month marker and the switch to baby food.  This coincides perfectly with my love for oil cloth and adorable sewing projects.  I found two basic patterns, one rounded and one squared and picked up some oil cloth and one laminated fabric I fell in love with.  

baby bib pattern

bib pattern rounded

Both of the original instructions on these patterns suggested sewing wrong sides together and using binding around the edges.  I chose to turn them inside out however, because both oil cloth and laminated fabric are not machine washable and I didn’t want any nooks and crannies for food to get stuck in places they couldn’t be easily wiped off with a sponge. If you wanted to use cotton on one side and fleece on the other it would also be uber cute and machine washable, so it’s up to you.

Bib pieces

oil cloth pattern pieces

After cutting the pieces out I sewed them right sides together.  You could sew the velcro onto the neck first so that the stitching doesn’t go through both pieces, but I found that it was worth the extra stability and as long as you choose matching thread, it is not much of a distraction.  

On the pattern, it shows a small area to leave open for turning out after you sew the pieces together.  I found that when using lamented fabric, and even more so with oil cloth, that more space is needed, so I chose to leave 3-4″ open at the bottom rather than the more narrow neck line to make the process easier.

Also, I found it looks much cleaner after turning out if you trim your seam allowance down to 1/8″ and press it open with your finger before turning.  This is especially helpful for avoiding creasing around the tight neck line.

Baby Bib

Finished oil cloth baby bib – Left side is the squared pattern,

For closures, you could also use snaps or even magnets for your closure, which I think I will try in the future, but I had velcro on hand so that was easiest.  

I cut the velcro to 1.5″ strips, I found that any shorter really didn’t provide enough strength to keep it from being tugged off too easily, and then I sewed them on in the top corners around the far edges.

Overall I love how they turned out and I can’t wait to make more!

Leave a Reply

