Felt Animals

After making a baby quilt a few months ago using felt animal silhouettes as an easy applique technique, I decided to branch out and make a few other fun items as holiday gifts and I think they came out really nice.

First a little bit about how I made these:   For the pillows I started with a basic envelope pillow case, if you have never made one before check out this tutorial.  

pillow case

leaf pillow cases

For the potholders I used 9″x9″ squares of fabric back to back with a 9″ square piece of heat proof batting in the middle and made a handle out of scraps but you can use ribbon too.

Badger Potholder

Felt badger potholder

Once I had the base pieces cut for both projects I used fabric chalk to draw out the silhouettes on different colored felt and cut them out.  After they were cut out I centered them on the fabric and sewed along the edges – that simple and so cute!

animal pillow cases

Leave a Reply

